On our way to Red Shirts!

Standard

Day 4 – Off to Red Shirts Lake

Sunday, August 21, 2011

5:45AM alarm goes off. At least it is not raining!! we pack everything up and head to the airport. Time to go back to Anchorage and drive up into Nancy State Park.

We make a couple stops along the way, sporting goods store of course, for MORE fishing supplies and fuel for the stove. We find an Internet cafe so I can charge my handy dandy iPad and publish the last 2 days blog. We stop at a liquor store to pick up some..well….liquor cuz they don’t sell it in the grocery stores.

We make our way into Nancy State Park and pack the things we “only” need for the next 2 days as we have a 3 mile hike through the forest with our packs on. We come across a couple of hikers and assure ourselves that there are no bears or moose in the area. Though Chad is packing a .44 and I have a bright yellow bell that jingles with every step attached to my pack, you are still on your guard just in case. We are told to talk loud to each other and Do Not be Silent!

We stop at the half way mark which has taken us about an hour, and rest and eat some granola and drink water. The weather today is beautiful thank god! Sunny and a warm 61 degrees! I actually am not even wearing base layers today.

We complete the rest of the hike which was not grueling by no means but still pretty intense with a 50+ lb pack on my back. Chads is twice the weight of mine plus he is carrying his camera strapped to his front which is super heavy in itself. We load the red canoe which is waiting for us at the end of trail, hop on in and paddle about 15/20 minutes to Red Shirts Lake and the island where the rustic, and I mean VERY rustic cabin awaits us. There is no electricity, no running water, no sewer system.

I won’t go into details but I’d rather sleep in the tent. There is an outhouse but oh man…..I can’t wait till Tuesday where we will actually be staying in really nice hotel, or at least it looked really nice on the Internet. Soooooo looking forward to flushing toilets, a shower of which I haven’t had since the first day we arrived in Anchorage which was Thursday. Can’t wait to shave.

Well, by the time we get everything unloaded, we are both exhausted and Chad opts to NOT go fishing. I was like “WOW” he must be super exhausted to pass up throwing a couple of hours worth of of fishing in before we need to get a fire going and dinner started. Which by the way I passed up cuz I was way too tired and freeze dried food in a bag was not cutting it for me at that moment. We get the fire going and sit around it and talk for a spell. After a couple of hours, I say my goodnight and crawled into my bag. Chad sits, feet away from me eating something out of a bag…I think it was Mac n Cheese. He said when he climbed into his sleeping bag, he was asking me questions or trying to talk to me but I was out! I don’t recall him trying to talk to me.

The road into Nancy State Park
[Map]

Cabin view
[Map]

Fishing Spot in Kodiak in our campsite
[Map]

Le Outhouse on Red Shirts Lake
[Map]

Master Chad, him bring back wood for fire. He goo
[Map]

The Fly Fishin’ Magician!
[Map]

Master Chad guards his throne
[Map]

Mushroom’s galore! The are a variety of mushrooms
[Map]

View from our cabin
[Map]

Cabin on Red Shirts Lake
[Map]

Hiked 3 miles with this on my back!
[Map]

Day 5 – Day 2 at Red Shirts Lake

Monday, August 22, 2011

Boy did it feel good to sleep and not have to get up before the sunrise. We actually were in bed last night before midnight and up at about 8:30. We needed that! In such a much better mood today. The weather is cloudy but at least it is not raining.

First task out of bed, we boil water and make ourselves instant Starbucks coffee! Gotta love those little one serving stick packs:) We kinda just do nothing this morning and then about 10:30 ish or so, we hop in the canoe and guess what we go do? GO FISHING! I am the wingman and have to maneuver the canoe around the shoreline while Chad can fish. We are fishing and hoping to catch Pike so we can fry it up for dinner. We are out on the water for a couple of hours and catch nothing! Being on this vast enormous glass like lake surrounded by Christmas pine trees(which I believe are noble firs though Chad claims they are Blue Spruce) birch trees, and many other evergreens with not a soul in sight is very peaceful. The silence you hear when the talking ceases and the paddling halts is a very intense sense, almost deafening if you can believe such a thing. I don’t think I’ve ever heard this kind of silence before. I am loving it tremendously. This is a place untouched by man and very similar to what I would imagine heaven being like. Since we arrived at Red Shirts Lake yesterday we have not seen a single soul. It is a crazy, unbelievably, surreal silence here. No cars, no freeways, no airplanes, no people. Just water, and the rustling of trees when the wind decides to show itself. In the distance you can hear a loon cry out. Chad and I both agree it reminds us of the movie On Golden Pond.

We head back to the cabin to grab a bite to eat. Chad pulls out our rations and we decide to have “brunch” which consisted of freeze dried Huevos Rancheros and Chili con Carne. Just add hot water. Oooohhhh yummy. Not! The uh, Huevos Rancheros looks very unappealing, more like egg soup. I can’t do it I say. The chili….not so bad. I opt for the chili and Redneck over here decides to MIX the Huevos and the Chili together and proceeds to add spices and diced shallots and jalapenos which we carted with us in our packs, and a shot of whiskey. It looks like vomit soup by this time but he eats it with not a drop to spare.

We head back out into the canoe of course….for? MORE FISHING! We are out on the lake for hours upon hours to only catch a small little pike. I weathered rain, a sore butt and fatigued arms for this puny little thing? What-Ever!

While on the lake we actually saw a group of 6 coming in on canoes to one of the cabins across the lake on another island. But cannot see them nor hear them from where our cabin sits. We pull up the canoe onto our site and Chad proceeds to clean the pike for dinner. I stand from the porch, a good distance, while he fillets the fish. He cuts open it’s belly and to our surprise pulls out a mouse, a bat and a frog. I am screaming and no way in f’n hell am I going to eat that fish now! NO F’N WAY! ……but Redneck here, he continues to fillet it and he is excited to cook up his fish. I have another agenda for my dinner. I am going to slice up the onion and jalapeño we have left over and bread it with my bread crumbs I brought and then fry it up in some olive oil. Yeah I am looking forward to that alongside my pack of freeze dried rice and himalyan lentils. (just add water). Going to wash it down with some tequila and call it a night!

Tomorrow……I shower! It will be a celebration! I stink!

Beautiful
[Map]

Cabin view
[Map]

Cabin view
[Map]

Another island in view from our cabin
[Map]

More view from cabin
[Map]

Water is like glass out here
[Map]

The shorelines are gorgeous, Gorgeous, GORGEOUS!!
[Map]

Such Beauty
[Map]


Sent from my iPad by My Vacation HD app (www.myvacationapp.com)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

